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HB 386 Changes to the Conservation Tax Credit Program 
 

• Requires donations to meet two (instead of one) conservation purposes. 
• Redefines eligible conservation purposes as: 

o Water quality protection for wetlands, rivers, streams, or lakes; 
o Protection of wildlife habitat consistent with state wildlife conservation policies; 
o Protection of outdoor recreation consistent with state outdoor recreation policies; 
o Protection of prime agricultural or forestry lands; and  
o Protection of cultural sites, heritage corridors, or archeological and historic resources. 

• Replaces the “Qualified Organizations” definition with the requirement that eligible non-governmental donation 
recipients be accredited by the Land Trust Alliance. This requirement goes into effect on January 1, 2014. 

• Reduces the maximum tax credit for partnership donors from $1 million to $500,000. 
• Requires appraisals to be submitted with tax credit applications and be approved by the State Properties Commission. 
• Requires donated lands to be subject to the following permanent restrictions: 

o No subdivision is permitted on properties smaller than 500 acres, and only one subdivision is permitted if the 
subject property is larger than 500 acres; 

o No permitted constructions may harm any existing conservation values on the property; 
o No permitted constructions may occur within 150 feet of perennial or intermittant streams; 
o No permitted constructions may increase impervious coverage to more than 1% of the property’s surface 

area; 
o Stream buffers that provide for at least 75% canopy cover must extend for at least 100 feet on either side of 

perennial streams and at least 50 feet on either side of intermittant streams; 
o Permitted agricultural or silvicultural activities must meet or exceed Best Management Practices, as 

established by the Georgia Soil & Water Conservation Commission or Georgia Forestry Commision; 
o No mining may be allowed on the property; and  
o No non-native invasive species listed in Categories 1 and 2 by the Georgia Exotic Pest Council may be 

planted. 
• Assesses an application fee equal to either: 

o 1% of the donated property value, if the donation has been accepted by a state agency; or 
o $5,000 for all other donations. 

• Requires ‘phased’ easements involving subdivided tracts to have a five-year waiting period between successive 
donations. 

• Suspends transfers of tax credits earned between the bill’s effective date (TBD) and January 1, 2013. 
• Limits the number of times a conservation tax credit may be transferred to one. 
• Increases potential penalties on appraisers who submit erroneous appraisals to a minimum of $10,000 and referral to 

the Georgia Real Estate Commission. 
• Requires taxpayers to ‘add back’ the value of their federal deductions before applying the conservation income tax 

credit to their state income tax return. 

• Prohibits local governments from holding conservation easements that are entirely outside their jurisdictions. 


